Posted by: Vozzie | May 29, 2009

The world of sitting on my butt…

Vozzie has a better website!

Vozzie has a better website!

So I am yet to land a temporary job for this summer, and as such I have had lots of spare time.  With nothing else pressing (other than the job search), I decided it was time to reinvent, rebuild, and reorganize my website.

I spent the first two weeks of this summer executing this plan, and now it is all done.  Feel free to visit the new www.DREWVOSBURG.com and check out what I have been up to!

So, I saw Star Trek, and it was a pretty decent movie.  The story was pleasing, although you couldn’t really tell where it was going to end.  Having seen it in a theater, I still think it is a very good movie, but I have a feeling the epic grandeur of the film will have less impact on DVD and BluRay this summer!

I understand that these are all small things, but they are things nonetheless, so here are my irritations with the movie:

1. Lens Flares. I know you are trying to create a visual style, but it got distracting.  I should be listening to the characters’ lines, not counting how many lens flares aren’t coming from actual lights.

2. Dutch Angles. Seriously, the beginning of the scene where Spock is before some counselly thing, the camera rotates 170 degrees on the Z axis!

3. Fonts. The different fonts for everything was distracting and racist.  No, sorry, that was Bond.  Bond sucked this time around.

4. Hoth/Always A Bigger Fish. The scene preceding Captain Kirk and old Spock meeting was absolutely unnecessary.  It felt like the producer said, “This film is beginning to be less effects driven.  People are focusing on the characters instead of the action.  Let’s have a lobster/leopard chase scene!”  And then, as was observed by a friend, the now-classic sci-fi “big-creature-attacked-by-even-more-ridiculously-sized-weirdie” moment.

5. “Rated PG-13 for Quirky Situations.” When Kirk and his trusty Scotsman, Scottie, beam into the Enterprise, Scottie is somehow transported into a big thing of water for the turbine engine.  Setting all “geeky” questions about being transported into the middle of another material, this weird and silly scene adds nothing to the actual movie.  In fact, it felt like something out of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.  I don’t understand why they felt it was necessary to add this to the film.

Overall, I think the movie was pretty good.  I don’t think it was as good as it was hailed to be originally, but if you’re looking for a decent sci-fi flick, Star Trek has some phenomenal CG and some good action that will keep you awake.

Vozzie

Responses

  1. Agree 150%. Couldn’t have said it better myself.


Leave a Reply

Categories

